News from Buckinghamshire Council – Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

The Council and Returning Officer are required to carry out a review of the places where electors vote. We are seeking comments on the proposals for polling districts and polling places from 2 October to 4 December 2023.

Full details of the review, including a list of proposed polling places and polling districts, a Notice of the Review, and how to provide feedback is available online via An online map is also available so you can view current/future boundaries and proposed polling districts. We’re encouraging responses to be submitted via the Council’s consultation portal

Responses must be submitted before 4 December when the consultation will close. Responses to the consultation will then be reviewed with the final recommendations being considered by the Standards & General Purposes Committee meeting on 18 January 2024. The Revised Register will then be published on 1 February 2024.

The Local Government Boundary Commission have now concluded their review of the new Buckinghamshire Unitary Wards. These new wards will take effect at the next scheduled local elections on 1 May 2025. The Boundary Commission for England have also published their final recommendations for new Parliamentary Constituencies which is pending Parliamentary approval. These are separate to the polling district and polling places review, however information about these future boundaries is included for information. The proposed changes to polling districts arise from both boundary reviews.

The proposed new polling district codes and names are in a standardised format for Buckinghamshire. The first letter in the polling district code denotes the new parliamentary constituency. For example: A – Aylesbury, B – Beaconsfield, C – Chesham and Amersham, D – Mid Buckinghamshire, E – Wycombe, M – Buckingham and Bletchley. The second and third letters in the polling district code run alphabetically according to the parish/parish ward. Similarly, the new polling district name format is: parish, parish ward (if warded), a number (if required). Where an area is unparished the current and new unitary ward names have been used.

If you require any further information please contact Electoral Services,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *